Eczema & Probiotics: Personal Update, Reader Reports, and the Respiratory Connection

Good news: my hand eczema is back!

Why is that good news? Because I stopped taking the probiotic a week and a half ago. I did so for two reasons. The first is that I want to try out a single-strain probiotic with a different bacterial species to see if it has the same effect. To do that, I need to induce the eczema again. More on that soon.

The second reason is that I wanted to see how long it would take for the eczema to return, in order to establish a minimum effective dose. My guess has always been that once I achieve a certain concentration, I probably don’t need to take it every day (probiotic pill or sauerkraut/kimchi). Well, it looks like it took about three days for it to start appearing very, very mildly — I had to pay close attention to notice. This itself is extremely strange — my eczema never pops up “mildly.” If it’s there, it’s very obvious.  It’s been a week and a half now, and I have to say, it’s still nowhere near the level I’m used to. In fact, the pattern I’m experiencing is unprecedented. I’m now getting extremely mild flare ups that disappear within a day or overnight. In other words, a very muted inflammatory response, which is what I’d expect as my concentration of L. plantarum lowers but is not completely diminished. If my immune system is slowly returning to its “overactive” state, then this is exactly how I would expect the eczema to return.

I never imagined I’d be broadcasting my daily hand eczema updates to the world, but there you have it. Science! Now for some reader updates.

In the last post, I noted that reader reports reflected a very clear pattern: slow but noticeable improvement. And if this was due to fermented food consumption, it was likely due to the fact that fermented foods have lower bacterial concentrations than the probiotic supplement I took. Sure enough, in a comment on that post, reader dojodelft reported similar results on what sounds like a classic, but pretty extreme, case of hand eczema:

I don’t care for sauerkraut much. So I was reluctant to join this experiment. However I suffer from hand eczema badly for 3 years now (I’m a desk worker). It appeared out of nowhere and it is controlling my life ever since. It’s got a (about) 4 week cycle, winter or summer. It flares up for about 3 to 4 nights in a row with extreme ichtiness. After I (of course) scratch the hell out, it resides. Leaving my hand intensely dry, red and very very calloused on the inside and outside. Even my fingertips are effected. Which is very inconvenient since I drop things out of my hands because of it. It feels like I have hardened melted candle wax on it. I always wonder if it could be something else, but my doctor insists it is hand eczema. Nothing seems to elevate the symptoms, accept antihistamine against the itch attack.

I now struggle every day to eat 4 forks of sauerkraut for 3 days. Conclusion: I really hate sauerkraut. But I’ve noticed that the skin on my fingertips is getting softer and sensation is somewhat returned. Still a long way to go, maybe even the full 50 days you mentioned, but I’m going for it. No prescription ever had the same effect for me.

Again, slow but noticeable improvement with fermented foods. There was also a second report from Wilbur noting continued improvement in one family member:

Patient 1 recovered from the asthma and cold, and likewise the (likely) new patch of eczema went away. This has never happened before! There is a confounding variable because I also increased the dose of radish kimchi by 50% or so.

Wilbur plans to try the probiotic pill in a second family member, who did not seem to get results from the foods. After one bag of sauerkraut, Jason H has yet to experience any significant effects:

As for the eczema, I don’t believe that there has been any significant improvement on my hand or my ankles. We did get hit by extreme cold this past week. My plan is to try the supplement after I finish bag #2.

Lastly, commenter libfree notes some dramatic changes:

Just a quick update. I’ve been taking the probiotic for just this week (twice a day plus some kimchi when I can + I started eating Kimchi at the beginning of last week) and I’ve seen some dramatic improvements. My feet have always had dry, itchy skin which has just disappeared. I have a cronic bunionette, a bunion on the outside edge of the foot, that has softened dramatically. My Rosacea hasn’t changed at all. Sinuses seem better but I’m still holding off on weather this intervention is helping. The most dramatic change has been in my lower respiratory area. My lungs are nearly free of mucus. I don’t remember a time that they were this clear.

If you remember, I speculated in my original post that, perhaps, this same intervention holds promise for other allergy-related conditions, such as asthma and other respiratory problems. So that’s a promising sign. But there’s more.

From a post on Seth Roberts’s blog, I came across a news report showing that a bacteria from Japanese fermented turnip called Suguki prevents flu in mice. The bacteria is Lactobacillus brevis, which is also a constituent of other fermented foods like sauerkraut and kimchi. L. brevis appears in lower numbers than L. plantarum and begins to grow toward the end of the fermentation process. But here is the interesting part: a commenter (Peter) on Seth’s blog post notes almost the exact same respiratory improvement that commenter libfree did:

Lactobacillus brevis also is found in pickled turnips. I’ve used it for weeks and noticed a difference. It seems to clear my lungs.

The one thing we can’t be sure of is whether it really is L. brevis that’s causing the respiratory improvement, because pickled turnips will almost surely have L. plantarum as well. In fact, my guess is they will probably have more L. plantarum than L. brevis (yup). But it is also very possible that L. brevis and L. plantarum have very similar characteristics, given that they seem to thrive in identical environments.

sauerkraut-fermentation-graph
Fermentation cycle

Oh, and wouldn’t you know it, L. plantarum seems to protect against the flu as well.

That’s all for now.

— Heisenbug

61 thoughts on “Eczema & Probiotics: Personal Update, Reader Reports, and the Respiratory Connection

  1. I think the flu thing could be true. Thursday evening I started a fever with sour throat. I really thought I would be down and out the whole weekend, but after 24 hours or so I recovered. Fever was gone and I was full of energy. I really thought that was strange because it usually takes me about a short week to recover from fever (flu or not). I’m only stuck with a bit of cold now.

    Concerning my hands… that’s pretty amazing too. The palm of my hands are noticeably improving. I don’t know how to describe it, but the overall moistness (is that a word?) of the skin seems to improve. Still a long way to go though. No flare up with itch yet. I can’t complain 🙂

    • Dojo, have you considered taking an L. plantarum supplement, like Mr. Heisenbug did? Just as an experiment (and since you don’t really like sauerkraut 😉 )?

      The flu thing is very interesting as well!

      • Under the doctrine that if a little is good for you than a lot is even better, I’ve been taking two of the supplement per day but I Friday I decided to take 4 because I was so excited about the changes I’ve been seeing. I also went drinking that night and consumed a number of beers (my memory is hazy on the number). I had awful, painful gas the next day, My guess is a super charged number of bacteria and the contents of the beers cause it. I’ve since gone back to two daily and only small number of beer. It could just be chance, but I’m thinking it isn’t.

    • This winter (my first eating fermented veggies) I have had 5 colds. Those with kids will understand. Four of the 5 were remarkable. In those four, I went from well to sick and then from sick to well in incredibly short time, usually less than an hour. Bam, sick! Bam, well! The lengths of the colds/viruses varied from hours to 3 days. One conversation went like this: Weren’t you sick this morning? I was. You sound well now. I AM well now. That’s weird. I know!

      • Oops! To clarify, the transitions from well to sick and vice versa lasted about an hour. The cold itself was usually days, except one.

    • Flu hit our house this week(end). We don’t get flu shots, on purpose. I’ve only had the flu once, in 2009, the big N1H1 year, and it lasted 36 hours. I’ll take my chances. I suspect at least part of the reason for pushing flu shots on otherwise healthy people not at high risk is that it gets them into stores to buy other stuff while they are there. You can’t buy a birthday card at a pharmacy anymore without being asked if you want a flu shot, too. Too much fear-mongering, IMO.

      No Tamiflu for any of us, either, but the teenage son, who came down with it first and was seen & diagnosed by an MD was prescribed it (pharmacy was out, which gave me time to look into it further and decide not to bother with it – what an expen$ive racket that is!).

      Instead we more or less followed the advice on the website of a naturopathic dr friend of ours who lives on the other coast: hit it hard at the first sign with lots of hydration and immune support: Vitamin D & C (really high doses, too); herbal tea (ginger, mint, nettle with fresh lemon); homemade chicken broth with sea salt; elderberry syrup with zinc & echinacea (first time for us), and so on.

      Son refuses ginger herbal tea and broth with sea salt, so he had ginger ale and apple sauce. We also took 3 kinds of probiotic capsules (Jarrow EPS, Nature’s Bounty, and Jarrow Ideal Bowel Support, all containing varying amounts of L. plantarum), beginning Friday night ( at that point, son had already been sick at least 2 days, I was starting symptoms, and husband was yet to start symptoms until about 18 hour later). The starting point of the probiotics as well as how much we took corresponds with our individual illness severity and duration.

      Son started symptoms Wed night, and was down for the count Thurs-Sat, with fever spikes reaching as high as 104.5°F – brought down to 101-102°F with 400-600 mg ibuprofen. He also took hours to get around to swallowing the vits and probiotic capsules I put out for him – so ultimately he consumed far less compared to the amounts my husband and I consumed.

      I started early flu symptoms Fri night (2 days after our son), and was bed-ridden with fever, chills, whole body aches, etc. Sat am-Sun midday, and my fever reached 104°F at the highest, brought down to 101-102 with some ibuprofen. My son and I both had a dry cough, and it’s still lingering, but otherwise we were both able to get up and feel relatively normal on Sunday afternoon.

      My husband started flu symptoms a half day after me, was able to sleep for 4 hour naps on Sat & Sun midday and slept well all night long. He was over the worst part in less than 24 hours and doesn’t even have the lingering dry cough. His fever never got over 102°F, either, so it was clearly milder for him. He also didn’t hear me say I’d raised the Vit D capsule dose from 2000 to 5000iu in his vitamin box for the winter, so he inadvertently consumed about 40,000iU of Vit D the first day, and about half that amount on the second day. Oops. I had about half what he consumed each day. So our individual vitamin D3 intakes during this flu episode also corresponded to the different flu duration and severity. He also is more regular about taking Vit D on a daily basis than I am. So Vit D status may have played a role in his milder illness, too.

      While that’s not how I like to spend a weekend, it wasn’t too bad considering what I see others go through. Hard to say for certain that any single “remedy” we employed hastened our recovery, or they were all useful together an overall beneficial strategy. But I’m keeping probiotics with L. plantarum on hand from now on, esp during flu season (probably will take them prophylactically, too).

    • I ran across this study today, and thought I’d mention it in case you had not seen it.

      http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23444963

      I wish I could see the whole study. Today, I weighed my afternoon kimchi dose, and had to top it off a bit to get to 105 g, half of what was used in the study. 210 g is a lot of kimchi! I’d be interested in any insight you have on this.

  2. Gave Bubbies Sauerkraut a try, as I kinda like the stuff. About a 1/2 cup. My reaction was the feeling of more mucus in the throat. I figure this is similar to milk, whereby, the exiting mucus is being thicken. Oddly enough, I find beans seem to get rid of the mucus feeling.

    This is, of course, all anecdotal, and a single point of context.
    ……………………………
    So are fermented foods like sauerkraut a perfect mixture of ferment-able fibers and probiotics? Or are the ferment-able fibers destroyed in the process?

  3. That’s very interesting, I’d like to stay on my current course for a little while to confirm the changes I’ve already seen but I might be willing to go off and see if the symptoms return sometime in the future and then tryto take them away with L. brevis

  4. I have no idea where to leave this comment.

    I am starting to pick up a pattern I our house. I am usually good at finding patterns. Patient 1 is, I am betting, developing a cold I had late last week. Lots of sniffling and coughing. Checked the eczema, and it is returning. No changes in kimchi consumption.

    As I said, I had the cold late last week. One thing I noticed had disappeared this winter – I can’t pinpoint a date but it is around the time of eating more fermented veggies – is long time joint pain in my knees and fingers. I lifted heavy weights a long time ago and figured the pain was the punishment. Sometimes it hurt enough that I had trouble with stairs. This winter, poof, all gone. But guess what? It returned, albeit more mild, when I had the cold. I am now well, and no more pain. None at all.

    Patient 2? Still no improvement. Buts lots of longstanding issues, including a super stressful job.

    Do you think this works IF the immune system is not otherwise engaged. That is, this works for those who don’t have other issues that the immune system needs to tackle? That might account for varying success.

    • exactly. Things like stress, sleep and other nutritional requirements can effect immune function. Since we don’t have any good way of measuring changes in the immune system, its hard to narrow down things that effect it.

    • That’s a really god question. Given the way we think this is working (immune dampening), that could make a lot of sense. In fact, from my reading, the exact same proteins that lactobacilli down/up regulate are the ones that are activated in a cold or other infection.

      If I was crazy enough, I’d try to give myself a cold to see what happens. But I’m not that crazy 🙂 I assume patient 2 is on the probiotics now? How many days?

      • Yes, probiotics. I think it is a week tomorrow. Winter, I think, is a tough time to be testing this. Next year we’ll plan ahead and make sure we are consuming lots of fermented veggies in the fall like I did this year.

  5. don’t know where to put this Q, so i’ll post here, under your latest post.

    have you seen any research on Shirataki noodles http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shirataki_noodles
    They are high in Glucomannan, a water-soluble polysaccharide that is considered a dietary fiber (from the konjac plant/yam).

    i was wondering if this could be another good food source to feed some our good bacteria. if so, would love to know more…

    • That’s a great find, Daz! Glucomannan comes up a lot in prebiotic research, and I’ve always wondered how/where it might be consumed as actual food rather than a supplement, which is the only thing I’ve seen it in. Well there you have it. Another one to add to the rotation. And yes, this is indeed a good source of fermentable fiber — as a non-starch polysaccharide it is slower fermenting than RS or FOS, which can be a good thing. Its water solubility means it has a good degree of fermentability.

    • And, what’s also ‘weird’ about this stuff, is that it is very very low in calories.
      it’s like eating nothing!…calorie wise.

      the stuff i bought, lists just 6 (six) calories per 100 grams.

      this makes me think, when i try the stuff, i may just start off eating a ‘tester’ to see how my digestion reacts. rather than just chomp down the whole 250 g package (all ~15 calories of it).

      I have the dosing protocol of potato starch in the back of my, start small to allow gut to adjust…..
      Do you think this could apply to the Shirataki noodles/Glucomannan as well?

      cheers Mr.H

      • I noticed that as well — zero net carbs, not much in it at all besides fiber.

        I’m not sure how much fiber there would be in a serving of shirataki noodles, but if it’s as concentrated of a source of fiber as potato starch, then I’d probably start slow and work up with that too, especially if you are coming from a low-fiber diet in general.

      • The main ingredient (first listed) is purified water, so that goes some way to explain the calories.

        The fibre content listed (i’m in Australian, hence the non-use fibre spelling) is just 4 grams per 100 g (fat = 0g, protein < 1g, sugar = 0g, carbs = 4g all fibre).

        i also checked a few nutrition databases, including non-US ones, but found no good info on them

      • so ‘officially’ my 250 grams of noodles only contains 10 grams of fibre…so nothing like potato starch at all.
        but i’ll still be cautious, as it’s a new food to me

      • Thanks for the tip about Shirataki noodles. I did some internet research and I should be able to get it here in Amsterdam, Holland. We have some Asian Super Stores in the city. Will also add it to my list of things to try for my fiber.

  6. I wonder about the coating of the pro biotic pills being strong ( not necessarily enteric) to get most of the agent below the stomach and into the colon. I have been taking a mixture here in Australia which is made from freeze dried bugs with ground powders of vegetables . All I notice is a lot of wind and i wonder if they are predominately populating the small intestine
    http://nuferm.com/products/foods/fermplus-free-postage

    • Hi John. My sense is that most of the probiotic effect is taking place in the small intestine. So if that’s where most of them end up, that’s not a bad thing. I’m also a little skeptical of the need to specially coat pills — lactic acid producing bacteria seem pretty well-equipped to deal with the harsh conditions and make it through the GI tract.

      I’m not sure what you are trying to treat or improve (eczema?), but the product you linked to is made up of a lot of different strains, and it doesn’t list the overall potency (CFU), so you may not be getting very much of the specific strains that you need.

      • Regarding enteric coatings: I’ve been playing around with isolating macronutrients by time – as a way to try to alter my biome. As background, I ate a fairly high fat diet for a long time years. That meant my starches were almost always consumed with fat. I believe that likely meant most everything I ate was first blasted with stomach acid, and then blasted with bile second. I understand that certain (pathogenic) bacteria are bile-ophilic.

        By consuming some fermentables by themselves (or with some probiotic/fermented foods), I intend to make it difficult for the bile-ophilic bacteria to compete, and easier for the favorable bacteria to thrive. Doing this has seemed to be the first time I’ve been able to shift my digestion from being too slow to fairly normal.

        Back to enteric coatings… Yes, some of the lactic acid producers seem well adapted to low PH, but I wonder if they’re more likely to survive the trip if they’re not eaten with a bunch of fat/protein – saving them from the acid-base cycle. Thoughts?

        From an ancestral health standpoint, it seems likely that many times starches wouldn’t have been prepared with fatty things. The idea of a big meal with a broad macronutrient mix might be fairly new, from an evolution standpoint.

      • So if I understand this right, you believe that consuming fiber in isolation without fats, thereby stimulating little bile, will create a (temporary) beneficial hyper-acidic environment? That’s an interesting hypothesis and worth testing. Consuming fiber in total isolation isn’t “ancestral” and I don’t see how it could be a requirement for health, but I can definitely see how that might hold some therapeutic value.

        This study shows that probiotic survivability is better WITH a meal of fat/protein.

        Separating fat and starch may be a paleo concept, but not necessarily ancestral. Mixing foods/macronutrients is pretty darn traditional/ancestral.

  7. Yup.. You got it. And, doing this seems to be helping me more than having probiotics and/or prebiotics with other macronutrients. In fact, for several weeks doing this has seemed to produce a burning sensation in my belly – which could likely be attributed to any ph change. However, since I’ve eaten fat with “everything” for so long, I attribute the sensation to decreased ph… That burning sensation seems to be subsiding now, even though I’ve continued to isolate fermentables at least once a day.

    I agree, it may be a therapy more than a long-term eating model. And that people have been making meals of combined macronutients “forever.”

    But, I’d think it has also been a common pattern historically for people to find a cache of tubers and eat a bunch of them. And then later kill and eat an animal. And at a different isolated time camp out in the berry patch and load up on berries.

    Part of this thinking came from something Nickoley said he does – potato starch by itself first thing in the morning. Other food later.

  8. I’ve got good news! Patient 2 is coming around. The long-term eczema seems to be receding, and the near constant congestion is improved. In both patients, new patches occasionally pop up and then disappear in a day or so. Thanks again for making the connection. I am in your debt for the improvement in my hands alone.

    • No problem, Wilbur. You have repaid the debt (and then some) by going out on a limb and confirming the connection yourself. Since tapering off the probiotic, I’ve noticed the same coming-and-going effect, which as you know is very uncommon. Immune modulation limbo? We’ll see.

  9. Something interesting happened two says ago. Patient 1 got dog dander in her eyes. Normally dog dander is no issue, but in the eyes it produces an obvious allergic reaction. That night, she had a huge patch of itchy, red eczema reappear in a spot that is years old. Today it is still bumpy, but is clearly receding with no redness or itching. No change in kimchi consumption. This is unusual for us.

    May I ask a weird consumption that is somewhat related to my ability to eat kimchi every day? I love chilies and have for as long as I can remember. For all that time but recently, though, chilies were horrible in the TMI department. In the worst way imaginable. I had to plan my chile consumption according to what I would be doing over the next 24 hours. Kimchi included, but it applied to every kind and preparation of chiles.

    That is until I started eating a lot more plants than I used to. I just happened to notice that chiles no longer affected me. It’s real and amazing. I can eat any chiles I want. Is it microbiota related? I can’t find any info on this possibility.

    A funny thing is that at the same time I lost my ability to eat mushrooms. Same issues I had with the chiles! I had eaten mushrooms for my entire life with no issues before then. I’ll trade chiles for mushrooms, but I thought this is weird.

    • Gosh, so many ways to speculate. Enhanced digestion/breakdown ability? Increased acidity leads to better tolerance? More robust mucus layer, less sensitive intestinal lining? Could go on forever. Either way, microbiota are certainly a big part of creating a more resilient gut.

  10. I hate kraut. I hate sour foods. Water kefir has many of the bacteria known to help immune function. This might be an easier way to get what you need. Cheaper too.

    “…L. brevis is one of the major Lactobacillus species found in tibicos grains (aka water kefir grains)…”

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lactobacillus_brevis

    I wonder if resistant starch in combination would help also. Particularly potato starch.

    http://www.edsgym.com/resistant-starch.html

    Here’s a couple of links to the guy who experimented with resistant starches.

    http://freetheanimal.com/2013/05/resistant-starch-4-letter-word-nope-goal-create-mashed-potatoes-a-diabetic-can-eat-every-day.html

    http://freetheanimal.com/2013/04/resistant-assimilation-resistance.html

  11. Thank you for the advice on taking probiotics for eczema. My dermatologist prescribed creams and soap alternatives and it didn’t seem to be doing much good at all. I’d had very strong symptoms of eczema since last September – including severe itching and bleeding. Since I’ve started taking the probiotics, it’s cleared up completely. And it just took a week. Could not be more grateful to you or to the friend who directed me to your blog!

  12. So enjoying your blog. Gabrielle K gave me a heads up about you and your smart followers. I have had angry eczema this winter–with a huge patch on my hand that just gets bigger, unsightly and uncomfortable. In my 65 years, this past year has been the first time I have had any kind of rash. I have eaten LC to VLC Paleo for 2 years and since what I am reading about the gut and bugs that may be missing from this way of nutrition, I have added back some safe carbs recently, 4 TBLS of RS the last 3 weeks and have ordered the L Planarum and other assorted probiotics as recommended in tandem with the RS. I should be receiving the planarum today or tomorrow, so I will let you know how it helps. I was trolling the web in other places about eczema and so many “cures” just never seemed to be helping anyone. Sure, relieving itching is good, but I want the ding dang stuff GONE off my hand and leg, not just soothed. I felt crummy at first when taking the RS, but this last week–WOW. I have felt better than I have all winter and sleeping very well.

  13. I took my second L planarum this morning and it looks like my hand eczema is already improving! Definitely clearing up. No itching around the margins. Number of bumps decreasing and there is just one small “colony” left in the flare that was at least 2 inches in diameter. I haven’t been drinking my homemade kombucha because I thought that was the cause of the rash, but I have realized for awhile that it wasn’t. So hurray! I can begin my KT factory again. Also, I am ready to start some other fermentations. I am amazed.

  14. Thought I would just pop in and give a little bit of an update on the respiratory improvements. No question that I am well outside of normal lung and sinus function. I have also stopped taking my allegra D which I’ve been on daily for the last 10+ years. I would expect to be fairly well congested if I was off of it but I have almost clear lungs and my sinuses are seeing steady daily improvements. I’ve been inserting L Plantarum directly into my nose for about 12 days and it definitely made siginificant improvements for me. I’m slowly freeing up parts of my sinuses that I’m not sure have ever been clear. About 7 days ago, I started adding l reuteri because I had a theory that I need to repopulate with the correct bacteria. I started to notice a return of some previous symptoms that I had previously gotten rid of (dry skin, bleeding gums) I attribute this to one of my packages of L plantarum not being shipped cold. I switched to a general probiotic that includes L Plantarum and I’m just dosing heavy on it. Symptoms have almost completely receded. The general probiotic seems to be clearing my sinuses faster.

    I would like to repeat that I’m not treating sinusitis. My lungs and sinuses were constantly congested even without infection. My theory is that, in absence of the proper bacterial cultures, the human body produces mucus in order to protect itself but I don’t have any science to back it up. I’ll be more curious to see what happens in two months when allergy season really gets rolling. We already have high tree pollen where I live.

    • hi Libfree,

      how exactly are you inserting the probiotics in to your nose?
      …using a wet cotton bud perhaps?

      thanks for all the info

    • Daz,

      That is how I started. The trick is to make it just damp enough to get some of the probiotic to stick to it. After about 5 days, my nose had freed up enough that I just sniff it like people sniff cocaine in movies. Crazy enough, I couldn’t do this when I started and now its crazy easy. Once I inserted the probiotic with the q-tip, I slowy enhaled to try and get it deep in my sinuses. I also imagine that some was working into my throat and lungs. Hope this helps!

      • Thanks Libfree,
        I actually started experimenting last night, after finding an 8 strain probiotic in the fridge i’d forgotten about. It includes 1 billion CFU’s of 6 strains, inc l-pantarum. Tho the biggest 2 strains at 12 billion cfu each are l-acidophilus & b-lactis.

      • …this bit…”It includes 1 billion CFU’s of 6 strains”
        should have read more like…”It includes 1 billion CFU’s Per Strain of 6 strains”

  15. I have been on the L Plantarum a week now, and while my hand eczema seemed to subside and get smaller at first, it now looks like new red bumps are forming and it itches some. Another area on my finger is bigger. Kind of disappointed. I do not eat sauerkraut or kimchi at this time. I have to add that I have started Prescription Assist since Saturday and another probiotic: InSync since around March 4. RS in the form of PS for about 6 weeks now. I do not detect much of anything different. I don’t have major health issues at 65 YO. My diet has been dialed-in Paleo (LC) for about 2 years. More carbs as safe starches the last month which has helped my mood and sleep. As far as other markers, I don’t know. My insurance does not allow random testing.

  16. Actually probiotic supplements have a ton of benefits for our health, eczema is just one of them, they improve the digestive and immune system, they prevent infections and they treat allergies, UTIs, and certain gastrointestinal diseases. Why would to take less? Keep taking them, all they do is improve our health!
    A lot of the different strains work together, and taking a supplement with many different strains is really what’s best. Here’s my recommendation: NOVA probiotics

    • My eczema subsequently disappeared a couple of weeks after I posted this. Then I began some SBO and another regular probiotic and finished up the L plantarum. I am so pleased the RS along with probiotics has helped more than anything else and now makes perfect sense about our gut biome.

  17. Both my kids have eczema and I’ve tried so many medications, creams, lotions, baths, etc. Nothing helps. The eczema comes and goes as it likes; no correlation with what I do/try. Their skin always feels so dry, rough, and bumpy–so sad for little babies/toddlers when they should have soft supple skin! I tried the Citrus Clear Skin Repair Moisturizer – This works for my kids!! (I understand every individual with eczema has varying degrees and types, so different treatments/lotions works differently on everyone–but Citrus Clear may be the one that helps your skin/child’s skin!)

    For the first time in their lives, their skin feels “normal”–actually soft! With this Citrus Clear Repair Moisturizer, their skin feels as close to normal as I think it possibly can. Even Eucerin cream and Vasoline doesn’t make their skin feel this normal.

  18. Been taking l. Plantarum(2 billion CFU) after supper since Dec 2014 to present. Lp299v by Nutrilida brand.
    Main purpose stuffy nose, difficulty breathing in hot muggy summers. Durban.south africa, sort of Florida or Texas coast)
    It was effective for the most part except my sinuses did eventually get fluid filled. I have a dental X-ray as evidence. Needed to take miserable antihistamines.

    Side effects. Thirst, mucus at pharynx , 1 day diarrhoea occasionally.

    I did try a different brand Enteron. It has potato starch. It made me feel a bit nauseous. Regular diarrhoea.
    Reason for taking lp299v post supper is to deal with starches, flatulence and the sinuses. I reckon and it is my opinion, that pre meal intake will result in it being forced out by peristaltic movements to make way for the food. In addition stomach acid is lowered.

    Another side effect has been moderate weight loss.

    Lastly I did suffer with a bladder infection. It was due to snacking daily on jaggery( too much iron in it caused overpopulation of some bad bugs). Stopped the jaggery and all was well. Lp299v apparently also enhances iron uptake.

    Amasi( lactococcus fermented yoghurt) did increase flatulence and gastric discomfort.
    Double strained greek style yoghurt…milk and cultures only…was way better. It has all the lactose taken away. Lp299v is more likely a transient if after 3 months of supplement i still have issues with lactose over a certain limit.

Leave a Reply

