Eczema & L. Plantarum Success Stories

Thought I’d do a roundup of some of the reader reports that popped up throughout the past month…

After not achieving any success with the standard dermatological approaches, Mary has cleared up her eczema completely using the L. plantarum probiotic:

Thank you for the advice on taking probiotics for eczema. My dermatologist prescribed creams and soap alternatives and it didn’t seem to be doing much good at all. I’d had very strong symptoms of eczema since last September – including severe itching and bleeding. Since I’ve started taking the probiotics, it’s cleared up completely. And it just took a week. Could not be more grateful to you or to the friend who directed me to your blog!

Reader Gestalt reports that he cured his girlfriend’s eczema with the L. plantarum protocol:

Just wanted to report I put my gf on the L.plantarum after reading your first post about curing eczema. She has had severe eczema on her hands arms, shoulders eyes and lips for about 1.5 years. It took 2 weeks of the Jarrow’s formula, 2 capsules a day before it started diminishing. This is the best improvement she has seen in a long time and I have you to thank for this discovery. She looks like maybe after another week or so she will fully recovered at this rate. Keep up the blogging, I look forward to your every new post.

Janet noted improvement after just two doses of the probiotic:

I took my second L plantarum this morning and it looks like my hand eczema is already improving! Definitely clearing up. No itching around the margins. Number of bumps decreasing and there is just one small “colony” left in the flare that was at least 2 inches in diameter. I haven’t been drinking my homemade kombucha because I thought that was the cause of the rash, but I have realized for awhile that it wasn’t. So hurray! I can begin my KT factory again. Also, I am ready to start some other fermentations. I am amazed.

And Janet followed up that her hand eczema is now completely clear.

Reader T.J. seems to have made a major improvement in his psoriasis. Psoriasis and eczema are not the same thing. However, like eczema, psoriasis is a skin condition with a strong immune system component:

Taking L. plantarum probiotics has much reduced the severity of my psoriasis. We’re experimenting to see if it has an effect on arthritis inflammation as well.

And now the best for last. Out of all the experimenters, reader dojodelft definitely stood out as having one of the more extreme and intractable cases of hand eczema, which has been plaguing him for years. Despite not having a taste for it at all, he decided to begin a daily sauerkraut regimen.

One non-scientific observation I’ve made is that most success cases seem to come from those using the probiotic therapy rather than fermented foods. This certainly seems to be the case with the most dramatic reversals. As I mentioned, this would make sense — given the difference in bacterial concentration, doing this with fermented foods was likely going to be a longer process. When I first made my discovery, it was after having consumed fermented foods repeatedly for months, likely building up an adequate concentration. When I stopped (and the eczema returned), I took the probiotic and noticed results almost instantaneously.

Well a few weeks ago, dojodelft did note slow progress:

Though for me it doesn’t seem to disappear over night, slow progress is still noticeable. I’m eating kraut for about 4 weeks now. My skins slowly seems to heal. It started at my fingertips, then some small patches of skin started to renew (pink and soft  )and now the deep cracks and groves are starting to fade. I haven’t had the crazy itch on and between my fingers for 4 weeks.

Well I’m now excited to see that his eczema seems to have completely cleared:

Though it is maybe early to tell… but my hand eczema has vanished… gone… as in not there any more. An end to years of torture. I can’t believe it. The skin is still a bit dry and recovering from years of insane scratching, But no more itchy patches and night time finger scratching.

Pretty incredible!

— Heisenbug

61 thoughts on “Eczema & L. Plantarum Success Stories

      • Hi, the only problem with this product is it contains soy in trace amounts. Soy is pretty much all genetically modified so I try to avoid all products that have it listed. GMOs are detrimental to our microbiome, but it is good that some people have benefited from the product. Allery Research Group has an L. Plantarum supplement. I gave that to a friend and his skin afflictions is clearing up too. He has been battling it for years. But I told him to stay away from GMOs too and he only recently saw the video “Genetic Roulette” about GMOs. So he stop GMOs and started L Plantarum at same time. Now he gets it, you don’t want to consume something that heals the gut while you take the thing that destroys it at the same time. You will get better results to stop GMOs and then use probiotics.
        But that is the biotech’s next new approach they are trying to generically modified soybeans that will feed your microbiome. Like we need them to figure this out for us, no thank you, I will go with mother nature’s way.

  1. Yes, I like he recap. Yet I am still really a bit in the dark about the mechanism, because it appears to work for some and not for others. In other words is there a underlying condition that sets the stage, triggers, or in any way makes translation possible? So a recap of all the other cases where success did not ensue, or lingered would probably be just as helpful. Granted we would enter into a complete new territory. It would be research, wouldn’t it? Putting together a list of questions for the participants that would define certain terms of reference. With the help of all involved we would bring the whole thing at the next level. Maybe we have a whole slew of retired professionals here who wouldn’t mind mulling this over and maybe spend some time on putting it together.

    • I can’t speak to the underlying mechanism, but I have a conjecture of sorts. In my family, the plantarum worked for two of us and not for the third. For the two that it did work for the eczema returns mildly if we get colds, and then goes away when the cold is gone. The third of us is high stress and other autoimmune issues. My conjecture is something along the lines that the plantarum helps those who don’t have other issues that are also activating the immune system, while it does not work very well or not at all for those that do.

      • I would say the person with autoimmune problems, it will take longer and she should probably stay with it. I have an autoimmune, not eczema, but my blood vessels are involved, lungs and skin too. I started supplemental probiotics in December Bifidobacterium and then later L. Plantarium. My blood labs taken every month for past few years, have come back with CRP and Sed rate way low, below normal, that is phenomenal for me. I have kept tract of these inflammation markers for years. I have not seem my skin eruptions heal on fingers and toes, but there is some healing and they are better. But the fact that I have never seen my CRP and sed rate so low for past 3 months tells me something is working. I did increase my prebiotic foods to more diversity as Jeff Leach says, Jerusalem artichokes, kumquats, green apples, Japanese sweet potatoes. some potatoes, but I am wary of potatoes too. I did try PS, but I am not convinced that it is helpful in my case. Oh, yes and sauerkraut, of course, but I go on and off, but I am trying to stay on more than off.

    • James, I agree. I actually considered concluding with one example of a person for whom it did not work, but decided to save that for a future post, because I do think it’s a larger and more complicated topic. But yes, failures are just as interesting and important as successes.

    • I don’t know of any specific research on that, however considering the close links with fatty liver disease and metabolic syndrome (both of which have correlations to the microbiome), then it is really not a stretch to suspect a link.

    • Hi, this study indicates fructose consumption, probably lowering fructose amounts and eliminating sugar. Sugar or fructose would effect our microbiome. But my nephew who has gout, got his under control by eliminating gluten out of his diet. His symptoms were alleviated. I don’t know if he decreased sugar too. He’s in the military overseas right now.
      http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=%22JAMA+%3A+the+journal+of+the+American+Medical+Association%22%5BJour%5D+AND+2010%5Bpdat%5D+AND+Choi%5Bauthor%5D&cmd=detailssearch

      • Cassence, gout is a disease of faulty purine metabolism for most people and has a genetic component. Excess fructose consumption could increase uric acid, yes, but is not the immediate trigger of gout. Most Paleo types fail to realize that gout has short and long-term triggers. It’s advisable to lower UA, of course. And lower metabolic pressures will reduce the incidence of gout, as it’s correlated with UA. But sugar and fructose is peripherally involved. The immediate gout trigger is not fructose and the observation you’re making, like the one above, is incidental.

  2. Thanks Wilbur. As for me I will have to leave all this till another season when I will be able to free up some time. I would certainly be interesting to go through all the reports. The positive as well as the other and design some sort of ‘tick off’ list.

  3. I was curious to find out if L. Plantarum could influence my hayfever. So far (one more month to go) I’m very pleased with the results. Here in Holland last weeks have been very dry and warm which would’ve normally caused a strong hayfever reaction every single day until rain comes to purify the air again. Many days I didn’t have any symptoms at all, some days I do but very mildly compared to what it otherwise would have been Thanks a lot for making me aware of this bug.

    • I’m glad to hear that, I had a similar response. As of a week ago, I still had some mild congestion in my nose and lungs. As of this weekend, when I started making sure that I took the plantarum with a fat (previously I almost always took it after fasting periods), I’ve taken that last step. My nose is almost completely clear and my lungs have only a minor amount of congestion. I will be surprised if I figure out how to make it much better than this. In the Southern US, we are currently entering our allergy season and I would expect to be suffering right now, even with medication. I’m not currently taking anything.

      I started giving my dog plantarum around the same time that I started. I just realized this weekend that the pill pocket I give it to her in has a small amount of fat and protein. I’m going to start using something heavier in fat. This is a bit of a stretch, seeing as she is a dog but her arthritis is practically gone. She had ACL surgery 1 year ago and has suffered from very bad arthritis. A month ago, I had to make shift the gate to my fence because she started jumping over it. She has no trace of the arthritis even after playing rough with other dogs all day long. I recommended it to my mother on that basis but she hasn’t seen any effect. I haven’t talked to her about the fat angle and she’s on a low fat diet so that could definitely be the problem for her.

      • I’m curious how you, your dog, and your mother are doing now? Especially wondering if your mother saw any improvement if you had her take the probiotic with fat?

        And also, why would taking it with fat help?

        Thanks in advance!

    • I too am monitoring this, but I think it is too early to declare victory on allergies/hay fever for me. Usually this time of year I am all congestion, sniffles, sneezing, etc. Now I am dry and symptom free. I sneezed once outside, and joked that it was the extent of my allergies this season, but that’s pretty accurate. One issue, however, is that this was an extremely unusual winter in my area, which might be mitigating or delaying things. I am hopeful.

    • Years ago, I use to have hay fever, but I found out when I cut gluten products out of my diet It stopped. I tested it by eating a spelt flour cake, one slice a day for three days and then it was like a faucet turned on under my nose. It came on strong and went on all day, my eyes teared up too and nose and eyes were red and inflamed. I stopped eating the cake and it took 5 days for the hay fever symptoms to stop. I’ve stayed away from gluten since then, that was 14 years ago.

      • We had the same experience. My wife always had to use antihistamines but I cannot be sure whether it was gluten related, since we also at the same time discontinued the use of most polyunsaturated fats (grain related ones). She isn’t interested in experimenting in the height of the pollen season. Too glad she is free.

      • yes, my congestion and sinus infections stopped after I eliminated wheat 2 1/2 years ago, along with brain fog, depressions, joint pain, anxiety and more. I had NO colds or infections during 2013. But my diet is also pretty real food. I now follow Jaminet’s Perfect Health Diet. adding more safe starches, PS and probiotics since January. Along with strength training I am feeling awesome! (and NO hand eczema)! 65 YO granny.

  4. I tried the Jarrow l. plantarum 299v for a month together with prebiotics (such as GOS, 100% chocolate, instant coffee) for bad fingertip eczema that I have since time immemorial. No effect whatsoever. Sorry to be a party pooper here.
    Since then I tried the SBO aor probiotic-3 that everybody keeps on mentioning (e.g., RN said it made him feel much better; Dr BG went so far as to say that he was a PS failure without it!). On the second day I felt sick with bad cramps; the third day was hell. Problems resolved a couple of days after discontinuation. I would caution against experimenting too much with these commercial probiotics for people with immune issues – it’s playing with fire. YMMV, as they say.

    • I think it is beside the point to call yourself a party pooper. I would reserve that for a person for whom it does not appear to work who then keeps quiet about it. As I mentioned earlier and I think Mr. H came to that conclusion too, we know that it works for quite a few people, we don’t know why not for everybody. Is it a matter of empty barrels? If the proper micro biome isn’t there, you are likely going to end up with indigestible stuff. Hey, this is stuff that went through hell (hydrochloric acid). If nobody comes forward with other suggestions, I do plan to come back to it in the fall and maybe put the whole of reactions in a spreadsheet. I may come with a list of questions too. The reason I feel quite strongly about this is, evidently, there is more going on than just producing extra energy. We may have an inkling as to what kind of mechanism (cleaner mitochondrial support?) but there are definitely some other things at play? Stress has been mentioned. I think that whatever gets your immune system in action, must be of importance. For that matter, even if you sleep well could make a difference. Did you know that a stiff drink before turning in will keep you from deep sleep? Meaning your brain, your neurons will never get the break they need. It is an interesting problem and I don’t buy the easy solution.

    • Thanks, Michael. I appreciate these kinds of reports just as much. Frankly I’m more interested in “failures” than successes at this point. Not a party pooper at all.

      • Ok, so this seems like a good place for me to jump in. I’ve reported here that I suddenly developed eczema at the end of February. I’ve never had this condition in my life though it does seem to “run” in my family on both sides. I started the RS in January using potato and plantain starches. I also use PA (have been on it for over a year actually) & do some probiotics foods. In mid February I added the AOR and the Jarrow l. plantarum (though not to treat eczema because I didn’t have it at the time, mostly I was taking it incidentally alongside my husband who has seborrheic dermatitis and I was curious if it might be helpful for him). By the first of March I had raging eczema completely covering my arms and abdomen with thick, inflamed and very swollen patches, dry flaking skin and insane itching.

        At first, I thought it was the potato starch and a possible nightshade sensitivity so I immediately cut that out. However, things got worse and the eczema spread all the way to my ankles, across my back and up my neck. Next, I took out the AOR (I didn’t take out the l. plantarum because I thought it might help and that maybe I needed more, also was pouring capsule contents out to eliminate possibility that it might be related to the capsule) and the plantain flour and all the novel fiber/starches I’d introduced. Things continued to worsen.

        I went and had a few acupuncture treatments because I was in such agony and was not able to sleep (I did not go to a doctor because I felt confident I knew what they would suggest and I wasn’t interested in applying or ingesting steroids). I was scratching to the point of bleeding on my legs and arms and was literally in tears a few times. I also stopped all probiotics and starch and any supplements I’d been taking. This was all around the third week of March. By the end of that week the eczema started to recede and the itching subsided. As an experiment, I decided to take the l. plantarum eat some probiotics foods (which I have been eating off and on for a long time) back on Monday, March 24. By that night I was red and inflamed and scratching like crazy. That was the last time I took any l. plantarum.

        At this point all that remains are the scars and just a little itching here and there. I have added back everything else except the potato starch because I do still feel like I have a nightshade issue; but I do wonder if it contributed to the sudden onset of the eczema.
        A couple of things which might be helpful to know are: the eczema was everywhere on my body except my hands, feet and face so this is clearly not hand eczema. As well, a few weeks before the eczema developed and I had inadvertently stopped taking my magnesium supplement (forgot to reorder and didn’t think about it until the eczema drove me into a frenzy trying to figure out what the cause might be). Also, this is a stressful time for me. I have lingering health issues and my husband and I just decided to make a huge move across the country. However, in spite of that the eczema has cleared almost completely.

        Anyway, I think those are all the important details, I can’t think of anything I’m leaving out. Sorry for the length but I thought I should try and include as many details and variables as possible. Maybe my gut is simply screwed up in a different way? Or this was some kind of interaction between probiotics and a sudden spike in nightshade consumption in a particularly sensitive person? I’m anxious to hear anybody’s thoughts on this.

      • Sudden development of Eczema in some may or may not be tied to L. Plantarum. I did not develop eczema but I noticed that when I scratched my calves, I couldn’t stop. I would, similar to LowBug, scratch until I literally bled. As long as I didn’t scratch, I didn’t have a problem. There was no outward Eczema. But when I scratched, they became incredibly itchy and my calves were covered with red streaks from which I had to recover in 2 weeks. Taking a shower, my calves would hurt. And also, my scalp became incredibly itchy. No visible dandruff but I would scratch my head until I developed skin irritations and scabs.

        The reason I’m no so sure if it was L. Plantarum is because at the time I was taking a strain that only had a small amount of it: GoL Primal Defense powder. GoL PD doesn’t disclose how much L. Plantarum is in there but I’m not so sure if that would have been a big enough dose to cause it.

        There are success stories and some potential horror stories.

    • Michael, definitely not a party pooper in my mind. As my RS experiment also failed, that would make me a party pooper as well for thinking that RS is not the magic pill that everyone is making it out to be. My issue is suffering from constipation for over 40 years. No amount of doctors and specialists visits have ever solved the problem. Doing a poop once every 3 to 4 days, is not a good thing. However, having followed the suggestions made here and on other blogs/forums, I definitely see an improvement. Going twice a day for the last few days (and three times last Sunday), hey, for me that’s a MIRACLE.
      I have started making my own yoghurt again, I have found a supplier here in Holland that makes raw milk yoghurt. I use a couple of tablespoons of that yoghurt to start mine. I added 2 capsules of L. plantarum 299v to the last batch I made and plan on continuing on doing so. That way I get fresh live bacteria into my system. I add 1 teaspoon each of Plantain Flour, Sour Starch (made from Cassava) , pounded Yam flour and maize starch to the yoghurt, let it stand for a while (as per this blog) to give the bacteria time to attach themselves to the granules and I add a dash of whipping cream for the fat. The results look very promising, but I don’t want rejoice too soon.

      • Hi Jo TB – yogurt has a lot of glutamates – anything heated/pasturized/fermented will release glutamates and in order for gluatmates to turn into GABA (the calming neurotransmitter) they require B6 and K2 – K2 is made by the gut flora – GABA is *required* for the colon to have “motility”… this is why if one is constipated, gluten, pasteurized/fermented dairy isn’t such a hot idea… Dr. Natasha Campbell Mcbride advises in her GAPS book that people with constipation shouldn’t eat dairy but eat sauerkraut instead – then later, they can have full fat sour cream… you can get sublingual GABA by Source Naturals and also take some K2 – you should also look at the wonders of methylation, as some enzyme in that pathway probably isn’t working correctly: http://www.heartfixer.com/AMRI-Nutrigenomics.htm – not a picnic to understand, but worthwhile as I believe it is the keys to the kingdom:-) As far as improving ones immune system, I think colostrum is awesome as it contains immunoglobulins that help the immune system when it is weak – zinc and vitamin d are also huge players in sealing the gut – but it is the lact of enough methyl groups which makes the gut permeable in the first place…

      • Thanks Jo! Amsterdam is a bit far from Groningen to go there for a few bags of plantain flower. So i have to wait for Leonie to add it to her shop. The only “Plantain flower” i found was fufu but that has other stuff in it too :((

        BTW, your story about improving your stool frequency is amazing! Congrats on that! Maybe you also shared it on Melchiors site. If so i missed it there

      • Daniel, I’ve looked into Fufu flour as well. I don’t think it is too bad either. On the package it says potato flour, but a Ghanian lady on the Dappermarkt showed me what they consider potato. It definitely isn’t our potatoes. I think it is a yam.
        FUFU is a combination of plantain, cassave and yams flours. 3 high resistant starches in one. I need to get me a packet an d give it a go as well.

  5. Jo TB, Cassave. Can’t be eaten raw. There is a poison in, hydrocyanic acid. It is used to make porridge for e.g. children.
    “The disease konzo is in fact a form of chronic cyanide poisoning, caused by eating cassava, tapioca or fufu from which it not or insufficiently hydrocyanic acid is removed. This can lead to deficiency diseases due to a lack of iodine ”

    http://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cassave

    • There is not that much cassava in fufu! Could it be that a small amount of cyanide has an hormetic effect on the body?

  6. Another un-success story here I’m afraid. I’ve been using potato starch, SBOs and FOS for about three months with good effects on constipation. A family member suffers from perioral dermatitis so I suggested she try the Jarrow l plantarum supplement, but after several weeks she’s seen little to no benefit. Of course dermatitis isn’t exactly the same thing as eczema, so it was really more in hope than expectation that it would help.

    I tried l plantarum at the same time, for about a week, on the off chance it might help with mild dandruff. No effect on the dandruff, but I did start feeling somewhat spaced and dizzy, so I stopped. The spaced/dizzy feeling dimished at once, and was gone in a couple of days. I’m pretty sure it was connected to the plantarum as nothing else was different, though I can only speculate as to why. A d-lactate issue maybe, although opinion seems divided on whether l plantarum produces d-lactate. I eat sauerkraut daily with no issues so small amounts of l plantarum (or maybe when it’s balanced with other species…?) are apparently fine for me. I’ve had good results with Prescript Assist, and recently with AOR3 too.

    • you might try almonds for a prebiotic – Dr. Jack Kruse did a 6 month biohack with resistant starch and potato starch really wrecked his sleep – he took stool samples every week…really over the top biohack IMO:-) He found that using almonds as a prebiotic, his gut flora improved… I’m presently doing a chitisan biohack as it is reputed to annihilate pathogens – it is also used for weight loss – so here is the theory: antibiotics cause clostridia to grow, chitosan kills clostridia, antibiotics cause you to gain weight – chitosan may cause weight loss – I think antibiotics cause clostridia to go out of control – my kid has 25 different species of it in his gut after strep antibiotics – and that killing the clostridia with chitosan and then popping some l. plantarum/s. boulardi will help repopulate the gut with something healthy like an actino bacteria…Mag 07 is awesome for constipation as is slipper elm… but adding fat seems to help also –

  7. This is so interesting! I’m wondering if any of the folks who saw improvements with their eczema noticed any other positive effects — mood, appetite, sleep?

  8. “I tried l plantarum at the same time, for about a week, on the off chance it might help with mild dandruff. No effect on the dandruff, but I did start feeling somewhat spaced and dizzy, so I stopped. The spaced/dizzy feeling dimished at once, and was gone in a couple of days. I’m pretty sure it was connected to the plantarum as nothing else was different, though I can only speculate as to why.”

    ^^ Same exact thing happened to me recently when I tried the Jarrow IBS 299v product. It’s an unpleasant spaced-out, hungover-like feeling. I don’t experience anything like that with prescript-assist or probiotic-3.

  9. If you search for 299v on iherb you’ll see there are alternatives to Jarrow: Source Naturals Intesti-Comfort (10 billion), slightly cheaper than Jarrow, and Probiata Critical Care, which has a massive 50 billion per capsule (and a much higher price). I have no connection with iherb or any of the manufacturers – just pointing out some alternatives.

  10. Thanks for the great posts, Mr. Heisenbug. Does L. plantarum have a similar effect with rosacea? Thanks very much.

  11. Curious about this treatment. What happens if you discontinue use of this probiotic after healing yourself of eczema or other skin disorders? Does this strain colonize in your gut or do you have to keep buying it and taking it for continual effect?

    • The colonization question is unresolved, though I strongly suspect it does not colonize. I think it’s quite likely that continuous use is required for remission. I do believe, however, that sporadic use is probably sufficient. Just how sporadic (every 3 days, once a week, etc.) is not clear. That probably differs person to person and would require some self-experimentation. And for many it’s a seasonal problem, further limiting how often intake is required.

  12. Manganese is important for the growth of L Plantarum: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/3522109
    “Lacking hemes, Lactobacillus plantarum and related species contain a unique Mn-cofactored catalase as well as millimolar Mn(II) in a nonenzymic complex performing the function of the micromolar superoxide dismutase found in most other aerotolerant cells. The high Mn(II) levels are accumulated via an efficient active transport system and are stored intracellularly in a high molecular weight complex.”

    So, if L Plantarum is not working for you, maybe add a Manganese supplement?

    I came across this when looking at the interaction of Iron and the microbiota. Apparently many beneficial bacteria (typically Lactobacillae) cannot utilise Fe, whereas many pathogenic bacteria can. The bad bugs get more iron if your gut is bleeding, or if you are under stress, because stress hormones liberate Fe from transferrins and lactoferrin. Then they out-compete the good bugs. http://www.plosone.org/article/info%3Adoi%2F10.1371%2Fjournal.pone.0026507

    • I read recently that the Lyme bug uses manganese instead of iron to build its biofilms – something to consider if you think you might have Lyme… also, lactoferrin will keep the iron for use in the human body thus inhibiting the bugs from using it for their biofilms. And the last thing I can add is there are a couple of studies on pubmed that say glutathione is used by l. reuteri to increase its population… and of course l. reuteri is the bug most often found in healthy people… sorry if this is the wrong place for this post and nice work on the manganese/l. plantarum – I think I’ll be adding Thorne citramin II to the reginment as there is no copper or iron in it:-)

      • Thanks for the extra info, Penny. You are partially right about lactoferrin, but the catecholamines such as dopamine, epinephrene and norepinephrine can liberate iron from lactoferrin and transferrin and thus make it available to the bugs, which is why stress worsens bacterial infections. It’s all in the second link I gave.

        Also, don’t overdo the manganese, folks, as in high doses it can cause neurological problems. The safe upper limit for adults is 11mg/day.

      • thanks for that clarification – when you actually named the cats, I got what you were talking about:-) This means that someone with a COMT methylation mutation (an enyzme which is supposed to break down catecholamines) would be more likely to experience pathogenic bacteria then… interesting –

  13. Hi all~ I’ve been reading the blog for a while. This is a really interesting find. I’m a little stuck on how to best get the lplantarum in me, I can’t take the Jarrow formula due to potato starch, it’s the main trigger of my eczema.

    I’m wondering if I use the Jarrow formula that I have as a starter culture for saurkraut, will the potato starch be completely consumed, or will byproduct of the PS that can trigger eczema remain?

    And If I take this route, can I start eating the saurkraut after a few days, or does it need the full fermentation period?

    Thanks for any and all guidance! 🙂

  14. Thank you! I will try them and report back. I have tried another set of L plantarum probiotics purchased in eastern europe and they completely muted aggressive eczema within 3 days. I tried the PS cleansing method recommended on free the animal, but it caused another flare, though not nearly as bad as normal.

    http://freetheanimal.com/2014/07/groundbreaking-nightshade-starch.html

    I actually tried 3 rinses, 2 with a strong vinegar solution (2x of what was recommended) and one with citric acid.

    The L. Plantarum works to mute eczema but only when triggers are removed. Removing triggers isn’t enough to mute eczema, it stays until I included the L. Plantarum.

  15. Hi, battling eczema for my dd for several years now and and across this blog. However, the last posts are from 2014, any more news since then as I am desperate to try something for her. Where do j get the right dose for her for the L. Plantarum ?

    • to Tan Vijain: I have been generally aware of this blog since it began. Although Mr. Heisenbug is not currently active, the information about sauerkraut and/or L.Plantarum helping eczema should probably be useful for many who have eczema. I don’t know what the optimum dose is; it will be your experiment. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

